Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

meadow

One of the best things about photographing bugs is that you can be lazy and lie down in the middle of a meadow and just point your camera to all the little critters around you! πŸ™‚ Here are some shots of the guys that kept me company in the meadow-

(1) Small copper butterfly (Lycaena phlaeas), which in Dutch is called “Little fire butterfly”. The name phlaeas is said to be derived either from the Greek phlego, “to burn up” or from the Latin floreo, “to flourish”. (I shot this picture through the grass and didn’t get a chance to take another one.)

(2) Lesser marsh grasshopper (Chorthippus albomarginatus), with a sound like the winding of a mechanical clock.

(3) Speckled wood butterfly (Pararge aegeria), always cooperative and sit still long enough to have their portrait taken.

(4) Scorpion fly (Panorpa communis), this is a male as evidenced by the scorpion-like tail (females don’t have it). It’s in fact its genitalia, and it doesn’t sting! See close-up below.

20 responses

  1. Super opnames, Calee.

    August 12, 2017 at 4:43 PM

  2. Super images, Camilla. I love your close-up shots, and was especially drawn to the one that shows the tail of the scorpion fly.

    August 12, 2017 at 5:58 PM

    • Thanks a lot, Mike! πŸ™‚ I’m still debating whether or not I should get a macro lens.. Which one do you use these days?

      August 12, 2017 at 6:47 PM

      • I mostly use my Tamron 180mm, which gives me a pretty good stand-off distance for insects, though I occasionally use my Canon 100mm, which is a bit lighter and has faster focusing.

        August 12, 2017 at 7:24 PM

        • I had a Canon 100mm in the past, it’s a great lens! Now I’m looking at Fuji lenses but they’re pricey so I want to be really sure of my choice before buying πŸ™‚

          August 12, 2017 at 7:39 PM

          • Which Fugi are you using? One of friends uses a Fugi X-T1 (Ibelieve) and really likes it. He has been getting macro-like closeness by using an extension tube with some of his lenses.

            August 12, 2017 at 7:53 PM

            • I have an X-T1 as well! It’s a great camera πŸ™‚ Yes, a tube is also an option..

              August 13, 2017 at 5:07 AM

  3. Wonderful macros! Especially like the Scorpion-fly! πŸ™‚

    August 12, 2017 at 8:11 PM

  4. Hi, Camilla.You see, that is where you have the advantage – I could get down to that level – but I would struggle to stand up again!! πŸ™‚
    As always, lovely images and illuminating notes! Thank you. πŸ™‚

    August 13, 2017 at 1:49 PM

    • Hi John, no I don’t believe you would struggle πŸ™‚ Thanks so much! πŸ™‚

      August 13, 2017 at 4:20 PM

  5. Don’t you love it when the models are cooperative? Great shots and thanks for making the big world so interesting. Although it does make life more complicated, even going for a walk isn’t simple when aware of all this stuff happening around😊

    August 13, 2017 at 3:01 PM

    • Thanks Tony! πŸ™‚ Yes, the more I learn the more I realize how complex even the smallest things are!

      August 13, 2017 at 4:21 PM

  6. Great shots!! What an amazing talent you have!!

    August 13, 2017 at 8:26 PM

  7. Great shots Camilla……and I pity the poor female Scorpian Fly that he chooses as a mate

    August 14, 2017 at 5:08 PM

    • Thanks Mark! Indeed, that kind of look like any woman’s worst nightmare πŸ˜€

      August 14, 2017 at 6:07 PM

  8. Once again, I learn something…thank you Camilla!

    August 14, 2017 at 10:21 PM

Leave a Reply

