Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

icarusblauwtje

A female Common blue butterfly (Polyommatus icarus), photographed in Amsterdamse Bos today. Living up to its name, this is perhaps the most widespread and common blue in Europe. Their lifespan as a butterfly is only 3 weeks, so it’s important to make the most of each day and really enjoy life to the full.. Like spending the day in a flower field in the sun! They’re so pretty and I’m always happy when I see one of these little guys 🙂

And apparently it’s been five years since I started blogging! Yay me 😉

14 responses

  1. Wonderful shots! 🙂 Happy Anniversary! 🙂

    August 7, 2017 at 7:00 PM

  2. Incredible photography produced on such a notable occasion, Congratulations! On for five more.

    August 8, 2017 at 10:13 AM

    • Thanks so much, Eddie! I don’t think I’ll continue for five more years but I’ve enjoyed it 🙂

      August 8, 2017 at 11:41 AM

  3. Everybody else has already said what I wanted to say, so I’ll just say ‘ditto’ 🙂 And huge congratulations on the 5 Year Anniversary. That must feel really good! All the best. John

    August 8, 2017 at 5:53 PM

    • Thanks so much, John! And thanks for sticking with me for so long, I think yours was one of the first blogs I started to follow 🙂

      August 8, 2017 at 7:34 PM

  4. Each of these is beautiful, Calee, but I especially love the second one here. I don’t think I’ve ever seen this butterfly. Such pretty colors.
    Have a wonderful week, my friend!

    August 8, 2017 at 9:23 PM

    • Thanks so much, Lisa! 🙂 It’s been introduced in Canada, but as far as I’m aware hasn’t been reported anywhere in the US. Have a great week you too! Xx

      August 9, 2017 at 6:58 AM

  5. Very nice photos, as usual, and congratulations on reaching the 5 year milestone!

    August 9, 2017 at 6:24 PM

    • Thanks so much! Can’t believe it’s been five years already 🙂

      August 9, 2017 at 6:38 PM

  6. Well caught Camilla, a female common blue, I like these females with a lot of blue in the wing. Brian

    November 30, 2017 at 9:41 AM

    • Thanks a lot, Brian! This is one of my favorite butterflies, I love the shape of the wings and the color pattern! Very stylish little one 🙂

      November 30, 2017 at 8:40 PM

Leave a Reply

