Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

moorhen

A Eurasian common moorhen (Gallinula chloropus) with chicks, enjoying a sunny Sunday here in Amsterdam πŸ™‚

In case anyone’s interested: There are some subtle differences in bill pattern, eye color, and shield shape between the American and the Eurasian moorhen. The easiest signs when it comes to identification are that Eurasian adults have mostly yellow lower mandibles, and a large and flat-topped shield is an indication of American.

11 responses

  1. Great shots! A beautiful species! πŸ™‚

    May 7, 2017 at 10:50 PM

  2. Can’t speak for anyone else but I’m definitely interested. I learn so much and the pictures are great too😊

    May 8, 2017 at 1:16 AM

  3. I love the beautiful red and yellow on the bill. Wonderful shots, Camilla.

    May 8, 2017 at 7:33 AM

    • Thanks Mike! Yes it’s a nice looking bird, very common but rarely wants to stand still and pose.. πŸ™‚

      May 8, 2017 at 9:04 AM

  4. What a beautiful creature, Calee!
    I love that beak!

    May 9, 2017 at 11:11 PM

  5. I know them as Gallinules – and I would have to go east, then south to see them. Once I did, and it was great fun to see those huge feet. My impression was that they’re not that easy to see in America but maybe I’m wrong – maybe if you’re in the right place, it’s easier.

    May 15, 2017 at 7:12 PM

    • The genus is “Gallinula”, it’s latin for “little hen”. Those big feet are so funny! I think the lack of webbing makes them look even bigger πŸ™‚

      May 16, 2017 at 7:17 AM

Leave a Reply

