Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

syrphidae

A beautiful hoverfly (Eupeodes corollae) on a dandelion (Taraxacum) πŸ™‚

When I was a child, I thought these flies were unusually fast little bees or wasps but their coloring is a Batesian mimicry and they’re harmless. In fact, they do a lot of good as their larvae prey upon pest insects (which spread some diseases such as “curly top”) and adults feed on nectar and help to pollinate the flowers (which probably is why they’re sometimes called flower flies).

17 responses

  1. Sweet shot! I sure like to be around them! πŸ™‚

    April 23, 2017 at 7:15 PM

  2. Great picture! I always thought those were some type of small bees too. I continue to learn so much, thanks! And it’s even painless😊 I feel dumb when I say “bugs” now, like if I called my coworkers “mammals”.

    April 23, 2017 at 7:20 PM

  3. Beautiful shot

    April 23, 2017 at 7:31 PM

  4. One of my favourites! Great shot!

    April 23, 2017 at 9:18 PM

  5. What a wonderful photograph, Calee!
    We are seeing our first dandelions here now. πŸ™‚
    xo.

    April 23, 2017 at 10:55 PM

  6. Another great macro shot! supers detail and colouring! Love it! πŸ™‚

    April 24, 2017 at 8:19 AM

  7. What a beauty ! Love it πŸ™‚

    April 24, 2017 at 6:12 PM

  8. I need to pay better attention and look for these, because we have them in the Pacific Northwest, too. I think I’ve seen them, but haven’t really looked carefully – thanks!

    April 25, 2017 at 8:34 PM

    • I read that some farmers even plant the hoverflies’ favorite flowers to attract them, rather than using chemicals to fight pests. I like it πŸ™‚ and they are beautiful to look at too I think!

      April 26, 2017 at 6:02 AM

  9. Nitin Khanna

    Excellent Work. All the Pictures are so good to watch. And As an Photographer i can understand how much important it is to capture perfect pictures specially flowers & Insects and present them creatively. It’s a Difficult task. Appreciate your hard work and efforts.. Even i always try to capture Pictures like these but i am not that perfect like you. Have a look at my work at http://www.nitinkhanna.net/ and let me know how you find it. I would love to hear from photographer like you. Thanks You

    May 11, 2017 at 12:18 PM

Leave a Reply

