Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

prunus

A cherry blossom is the flower of any of several trees of genus Prunus, particularly the Japanese cherry, Prunus serrulata, which is called sakura.

These three images were taken a few days ago in the Kersenbloesempark (Cherry blossom park) at the Amsterdamse Bos. There are 400 cherry trees there, donated Japan’s Women’s Club in the year 2000. All trees have their own name, 200 have Japanese women’s names and 200 Dutch women’s names.

If you happen to be in the area, I can definitely recommend a visit to the park 🙂

21 responses

  1. Superb light; lovely images! 🙂

    March 30, 2017 at 12:07 PM

  2. Love it! Love the light and I also like how the background looks 🙂

    March 30, 2017 at 3:02 PM

  3. That must be some beautiful park this time of year. Many happy bees and photographers 😊

    March 30, 2017 at 5:58 PM

    • It’s amazing! Bit crowded though, but who can resist cherry blossoms on a sunny spring day! 🙂

      March 30, 2017 at 7:50 PM

  4. Calee, these are so beautiful!
    And the light in each one is simply perfection.
    Have a wonderful weekend!

    March 30, 2017 at 10:19 PM

    • Thanks so much, Lisa! 🙂 Have a great weekend, xx

      March 31, 2017 at 5:09 AM

  5. Such beautiful blossom. I visited my Dad recently, He has a flowering cherry centre stage in his front garden and it was magnificent. Lifts the heart. Beautiful images Camilla. 🙂

    April 3, 2017 at 2:58 PM

    • That’s exactly it, it lifts the heart! 🙂 Thanks Adrian!

      April 3, 2017 at 4:53 PM

  6. So pretty – don’t you love standing underneath them?

    April 3, 2017 at 7:30 PM

  7. So beautiful these flowers, one of my favourite blossoms!! ♥ I think I prefer the pink cherry blossom most of all, but the white can be so pretty too. It’s amazing how different they all are too. Especially in Japan, they seem to have varieties I’ve never seen in the UK. I actually got to photograph some pink cherry blossom a few days ago, been wanting to photograph it for years, but I keep missing it. They flower such a short time, and when I have seen the flowers at their best… I’ve no camera on me!

    April 22, 2017 at 1:25 AM

    • Thanks Suzy! It’s one of my favorites as well. For those moments when you don’t have your camera with you, use your cell phone.. it’s better than nothing! 🙂

      April 22, 2017 at 9:07 AM

      • Ah yes, I do, and it takes good pictures! I’ve only had a quality cell phone worthy of taking images in the last year. Last summer, I missed the cherry blossom in certain parks. It seems to blossom at different times in different parks just a few miles apart. Strange that, I wonder if it’s to do with different parks being warmer or colder. If I see it blooming in one place in the city, I rush to my favourite park to find it’s already been and gone. It’s a bit of a chase! 😀

        April 22, 2017 at 10:46 AM

        • The temperature and amount of sunshine make a difference for sure, also what kind of cherry tree and their ages I think 🙂

          April 22, 2017 at 11:54 AM

  8. Just beautiful, which city of Germany they are in? And what is the season to come and visit?

    April 23, 2017 at 7:34 PM

    • They’re not in Germany but in Amsterdam, The Netherlands. Best season to visit depends on the visitor, but in general I think most people prefer the tulip fields in spring.

      April 23, 2017 at 8:15 PM

Leave a Reply

