Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

tattoo

This is not just a ladybug like all others.. She has a cat tattoo on her left shoulder! πŸ™‚

I always thought all ladybugs looked the same, but that’s not the case. According to Wikipedia, the spot size and coloration can provide some indication of how toxic the individual bug is to potential predators. It synthesizes the toxic alkaloids, N-oxide coccinelline and its free base precoccinelline; depending on sex and diet.

Seven-spotted ladybug or

Seven-spotted ladybug or “C-7” (Coccinella septempunctata)

Picture rotated and zoomed in:

tattoo-2

Hello Kitty

19 responses

  1. Well spotted – and well caught! πŸ™‚

    March 5, 2017 at 6:18 PM

    • Thanks John! I didn’t spot the spot until I looked at the image on my laptop. I’ll look closer from now on! πŸ™‚

      March 5, 2017 at 6:21 PM

  2. If the markings show how toxic they are I will assume the cat tattoo marks a friendly one. If you see one with a skull and crossbones I’d stay clear!

    You sure do make the most of things, you’ve turned a big on a leaf into something interesting, pretty and educational. And we all get to benefit from your efforts. So thanks for posting this😊 Tony

    March 5, 2017 at 6:47 PM

    • Thanks Tony! I’ll keep my eye out for one with a scull tattoo πŸ˜‰

      March 5, 2017 at 6:53 PM

  3. Unique! πŸ™‚

    March 5, 2017 at 6:56 PM

  4. I never knew this, Calee.
    Wonderful images!
    Happy day to you.

    March 5, 2017 at 7:46 PM

  5. She’s lovely! 😳 Haha… I see the cat tattoo… she’s a very stylish lady!!! πŸ˜…

    March 5, 2017 at 9:28 PM

  6. Wh-a-t? Oh, now I see it! too funny!

    March 6, 2017 at 2:48 AM

  7. Haha, nice and well spotted !

    March 6, 2017 at 2:51 PM

  8. I knew there were different kinds, and I’ve noticed differing numbers of spots, but Ive never looked into the “Why” of it, so thanks – and the cat head is a fun touch.

    March 6, 2017 at 7:03 PM

    • Thanks Lynn! I had only noticed the number of spots before, it was nice to learn something new πŸ™‚

      March 6, 2017 at 7:27 PM

  9. Gorgeous! I also have lots of yellow ladybugs around my flowers. They are so cute πŸ™‚

    March 15, 2017 at 7:20 PM

    • Thanks Cristina! The yellow ones are bot as common as the red ones here, I’m always happy to see them πŸ™‚

      March 15, 2017 at 7:23 PM

Leave a Reply

