Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

lesson

I photographed a grey heron (Ardea cinerea) but forgot to change the camera settings so I accidentally used the ones from my previous photo shoot. I adjusted it and took some more shots but when I reviewed the images later, I found that I actually like this one. The (wrong) settings created a more dramatic look, and I also left it uncropped. Lesson learned: It’s good to experiment and I might make this mistake on purpose in the future. 😉

lesson

18 responses

  1. I agree, that’s a good contrast you got there.

    December 7, 2016 at 5:56 PM

  2. Very nice capture! We’ve all done the wrong settings thing more than once! 🙂

    December 7, 2016 at 6:24 PM

    • Thanks Tom! 🙂 Sometimes it’s good to make mistakes.

      December 7, 2016 at 6:50 PM

  3. I remember overexposing a roll a film one time, then having to compensate for that by pulling the processing time. The “incorrect” shots turned out better than the properly exposed ones. This one definitely turned out right for you!

    December 7, 2016 at 9:09 PM

  4. Gotlieb

    Hi, this is what I learned from painters to call “a happy mistake”!

    Sent from my iPad

    December 7, 2016 at 10:39 PM

  5. Gotlieb

    fairy-tale-like

    Sent from my iPad

    December 8, 2016 at 10:24 PM

  6. I DO like those little mistakes!

    December 8, 2016 at 10:46 PM

    • Me too! It’s even better when you don’t expect it 🙂

      December 9, 2016 at 7:20 AM

  7. Calee, this is WONDERFUL!!!

    December 9, 2016 at 12:52 AM

  8. Beautiful Camilla! 🙂

    December 13, 2016 at 11:44 AM

  9. The dark mystery! Isn’t it funny how mistakes show us the way sometimes? Yesterday we were watching one (ours is the Great Blue heron, but basically the same bird) pick its way carefully across slushy ice at the edge of the water – very cool to see. I love these birds….

    December 19, 2016 at 4:15 PM

    • Yes! I love these kind of “happy mistakes” 🙂

      December 19, 2016 at 8:25 PM

Leave a Reply

