Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

statistics

Stat 1- Every two days, there are more pictures being taken than in the whole history of film photography.

Stat 2- There are more pictures being taken by iPhone than any other camera (~65%).

Stat 3- Before this weekend is over, there will be more photographs than bricks in the world. (Bricks!)

Mind-blowing, right?

It makes me wonder, is there any point in taking photographs anymore, or has everything been done already?

Here are two pictures I’ve taken with my iPhone. I like both of them, even if they’re not particularly interesting or unique in any way. So is it okay to share them, or have we reached a point where we’ve had enough?

(1) The Hirschgebouw on Leidseplein, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

statistics-1

(2) Autumn colours in Stadsparken, JΓΆnkΓΆping, Sweden

statistics-2

 

22 responses

  1. I like the pics too! πŸ™‚
    I am very fond of holograms and holography. It’s true 3D, magical, fascinating, and very few people are into it! πŸ™‚

    November 13, 2016 at 7:18 PM

    • Thanks Tom! πŸ™‚ I’ve never done a hologram, but it seems really interesting. Still, I’m not ready to move on from regular (2D) photography.. πŸ˜‰

      November 13, 2016 at 7:24 PM

      • Yes, it’s quite a big jump! I stopped making them. It’s a long, arduous process… and, getting elderly, it’s a bit much! They sure are awesome, though. Too bad they are not at all popular. When people see good ones, they never forget them…

        November 13, 2016 at 7:53 PM

  2. The statistics are startling, but no, I haven’t had enough. I like both of these images, especially the second one, with the structure dead center. It’s easy to second guess yourself sometimes, but there are lots of us very visual people who are happy to look at images (and make them) all day long! πŸ˜‰

    November 13, 2016 at 8:05 PM

    • Thanks Lynn! I just spent a few hours visiting other photo blogs, and I realized that a lot, or even most, of what I saw was new to me. Plants that don’t grow where I live, bird species I’ve never seen, the beautiful colours in a forest I’ve never heard of. So no, we haven’t had enough yet I think! πŸ˜‰

      November 13, 2016 at 8:14 PM

      • Exactly! And inspiring ways to take photographs are out there, too, once you wade through all the sameness.

        November 21, 2016 at 4:52 PM

  3. What an interesting set of statistics (I am a statistician), Calee!!
    No matter how much something has been done, and no matter how many photos are out there, I will continue to take pictures.
    I don’t think I could ever tire of it.
    Happy Sunday to you, my friend. xo.

    November 13, 2016 at 8:39 PM

    • Thanks Lisa! I don’t think I could tire of it either. And it still amazes me how much more I see through the lens, especially (but not only) small bugs and birds! Happy Sunday you too! Xx

      November 13, 2016 at 9:29 PM

  4. I will never tire of taking more photos (thus my blog title) and seeing photos by people like yourself trying to capture something worth telling about. I’m sure all the selfies and other mind-numbing captures of daily existence are skewing the statistics of photography. Just because someone can capture every moment of their life doesn’t mean they should. πŸ™‚

    November 13, 2016 at 9:21 PM

    • Well spoken, Steve! πŸ™‚ Simply counting the amounts of images taken isn’t exactly what I would define as amounts of photographs taken, if you know what I mean. There’s a big difference between a well thought through picture and a simple snapshot.

      November 13, 2016 at 9:34 PM

  5. These are incredible statistics but no it hasn’t all been done already. To every photograph we bring something of ourselves and that makes them unique. I love these pictures Camilla. I was going to mention selfies but Steve did that for me! πŸ™‚

    November 14, 2016 at 10:21 AM

    • Thanks Adrian! πŸ™‚ I fully agree, was looking at your (and others) latest images yesterday and thought to myself one can never have enough of this. πŸ™‚

      November 14, 2016 at 11:16 AM

  6. Hi, just found your site and I love it! No there aren’t too many photos. I was outdoors recently with someone and took a picture and showed my friend who said wow that’s really cool. But we were in exactly the same location.

    We go past a million beautiful things every day. Most people don’t notice anything because their mind is preoccupied. Photographers notice slices of Beaty that will never exist exactly the same again, and capture them forever for all to enjoy. You’ve captured beautiful things I’d never have the opportunity to see for myself, or notice.

    There are never too many photos! Keep up the great work😊

    November 19, 2016 at 6:50 PM

    • Thank you for this comment! It’s so true, we do go past a million beautiful things every day. I started this blog with the intention to show some of that beauty, just regular things like a small fly or something that we all see but most of us don’t really SEE. Thanks for signing up, I really appreciate it! πŸ™‚

      November 20, 2016 at 6:29 PM

      • I even liked your fly pictures! it is I think a gift to be able to see the beauty in everything and capture it for others. You clearly have an eye for it. In particular you seem to have a wonderful feel for lighting, another factor most don’t think about. That is a very powerful combination! So yes please keep up with your site, it looks like it is what you love and if you are doing that it will take you to places you can’t imagine yet. Spoken from experience 😊

        November 20, 2016 at 11:53 PM

  7. Like that second pic Calee! Statistics are always good talking points and I enjoyed your post. My major concern with the daily avalanche of photos around the globe is the evolving function of an image: from the creative, quality capture of an amazing moment in time — to a simplistic form of communication that replaces words with strings of mediocre photos.

    November 27, 2016 at 7:00 PM

    • Thanks Nick! I think there are way too many uninteresting images out there but definitely still room for more high quality artwork! Your nature shots are great, I want to see more like that πŸ™‚

      November 28, 2016 at 6:55 AM

  8. Great – I love these!

    December 18, 2016 at 8:04 PM

  9. Wow, that’s a striking, bold building, and your woodland image is gorgeous!!! β™₯ You can never reach the end of taking pictures, because every time you take one you are recording a little piece of history. I followed a Facebook group page for old photos, some belong to uploader and others are just interesting finds on the internet. It’s a fascinating insight to history. The most interesting ones do seem to be pictures of people. I just wonder what our idea of life a hundred years ago or more would be without all that photographic evidence? πŸ™‚

    January 8, 2017 at 8:16 AM

    • Thanks so much, Suzy! πŸ™‚ I just came back from a photo museum, and I’m so impressed how it’s still possible to discover whole new angles and techniques. I wonder what people in the future will say about photos from 2017?

      January 11, 2017 at 7:40 PM

Leave a Reply

