Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

peregrine

A peregrine falcon (Falco peregrinus), photographed from my office window today. Not the best quality, it was quite far away and even though it’s one of the largest falcons, it was a tall order even for my trusty SX60. I think it’s a female, she was about the same size as a raven, males are smaller roughly the size of a crow.

The peregrine falcon is the fastest animal on Earth and in 2005 one was recorded stooping at a top speed of 389Β km/h (242Β mph). Impressive!

pelegrine

14 responses

  1. This is great. I’ve tried so often to get this type of shot – but I’ve never got anything this close and this good. πŸ™‚
    John

    June 8, 2016 at 4:49 PM

    • Thanks so much, John! The picture is good enough for identification purposes, but unfortunately not more than that.. I’m thinking of visiting a falconry or a zoo to get a close-up shot.

      June 8, 2016 at 6:17 PM

  2. Gotlieb

    …from your office window…. Why don’t I ever see such special birds from my office window…? Although… Today I saw a pack of geese in perfect V formation…

    soon no birds but cats on your blog. Maybe an occasional “cat-chases-rare-bird”-picture?

    Groetjes, Edith

    Sent from my iPhone

    June 8, 2016 at 5:56 PM

    • There are no falcons around AMP, you need to move to DEA, Edith! πŸ™‚ Yesterday there was a Kestrel by the ArenA too. Kitten pictures coming up soon! (No bird chasing though.)

      June 8, 2016 at 6:21 PM

  3. Wow, not an easy bird to pin down I’m sure Camilla! Well done for getting the shot! πŸ™‚

    June 8, 2016 at 6:27 PM

    • Thanks Adrian! They have a nest on the roof of the building where I work. Today I got lucky when one of them landed on another building so I could take a picture. πŸ™‚

      June 8, 2016 at 7:05 PM

  4. Superb! Wow! That’s fast! πŸ™‚

    June 8, 2016 at 11:49 PM

    • Thanks Tom! Yes it’s so fast it’s almost hard to imagine πŸ™‚

      June 9, 2016 at 4:16 AM

  5. Wow! Lucky you. Awesome that you could get this shot.

    June 9, 2016 at 1:57 AM

  6. thrilling to see something so special while at work.

    June 9, 2016 at 9:22 PM

  7. You are so lucky & good πŸ™‚ Would love to capture a shot of a peregrine at some point.

    June 12, 2016 at 3:35 AM

    • Thanks! I would love it too if you did, show how it should be done πŸ™‚

      June 12, 2016 at 5:45 AM

Leave a Reply

