Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

denoise

I’ve been given a free trail version of Topaz DeNoise, a software to reduce noise in images without the need of a host editor like e.g. Photoshop. I’ve never used it before, nor have I any experience with other noise reducing software, however it’s pretty intuitive and easy to use. I’m sure the result could’ve been better with more practice and effort, but I’d like to share the first (and only) image I’ve edited so far.

The image shows a female Blackbird (Turdus merula), shot from a distance of roughly 15 meters at an ISO of 1000. I chose this picture for the experiment because half of the bird is in shadow and the other in bright light. Comparing the pictures below, you can see that the noise hasn’t been eliminated from the top image but it’s less obvious. The downside is of course that noise reduction cost some detail in the image, but I do think the edited version is more pleasant to look at.

What do you think? I’m interested in hearing your opinion and experience with noise reducing software!

(1) Edited version (no other software than DeNoise has been used):

denoise-1

(2) Straight out of the camera version:

denoise-2

 

11 responses

  1. Topaz has some videos out there providing some very helpful tricks and tips. I’ve got Denise as a filter on PS and used to use it a lot however I’ve found both LR and camera raw work better. If you don’t use LR or PS then Denise works just fine

    March 6, 2016 at 12:36 PM

    • Spell check drives me crazy I should know by now to retread before hitting send. I use denoise not Denise 🙂

      March 6, 2016 at 12:38 PM

      • Thanks for your input, Judy! I’ve never used LR or PS, will look for videos on Youtube and edit some more pics with DeNoise and hopefully get better results. 🙂

        March 13, 2016 at 6:59 PM

  2. That’s fascinating, Camilla, and the image that you processed with Denoise sure does look better. So far I have not used any plug-ins or filters, but it’s an area that I would like to explore more. It’s handy that some of them, like this one, can be used as stand-alones.

    March 6, 2016 at 1:35 PM

    • Hi Mike, I haven’t done that either but I’m sure it’s worthwhile learning more about various plug-ins, filters and post-editing in general. We just need to make the time for it.. 🙂

      March 13, 2016 at 7:01 PM

  3. I know what you mean about the annoying look of the noise, but I would want the best of both worlds – can you sharpen just the bird’s eye and some of the feathers? More work, I know! it’s interesting how the quality of the light is very different after using denoise – it seems to have removed a haze or something, and the light is clearer.

    March 6, 2016 at 4:49 PM

    • Hi Lynn, there’s probably a way of getting less noise without loss of details as trade-off but I haven’t learned enough about the software to get there yet. I agree it’s interesting how the software improved the light in the picture, that was a pleasant surprise. 🙂 I hope I have more time to explore the software before the trial period’s up, in that case I’ll write another post about it. 😉

      March 13, 2016 at 7:06 PM

  4. Very interesting and you can absolutely see with more clarity.

    March 7, 2016 at 4:25 AM

  5. I avoid shooting at high ISOs simply because like you Camilla, I don’t like noise in my photographs. I’ve used several different programs to reduce noise, including Topaz’s Denoise. To be honest, I’m never happy with the loss of detail as soon as you start applying these filters. This is the reason I always have my tripod, I’d rather shoot a longer exposure than up the ISO. That said, these programs definitely have their place.

    March 28, 2016 at 8:09 AM

    • Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Adrian! Unfortunately longer exposure isn’t an option when it comes to bird photography.. I guess I’ll have to try to take better original shots , and keep the ISO levels at a reasonable low level. 🙂

      April 10, 2016 at 1:15 PM

Leave a Reply

