Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

w32

I thought Herons only ate fish, but after studying them I realized that they eat pretty much anything. “If you can swallow it, it’s edible”, seems to be their reasoning.

Grey Heron (Ardea cinerea)

Grey Heron (Ardea cinerea)

This little Coot is just around one week old. Since the picture was taken today, I’m guessing it’s from the second or perhaps even third litter this year.

Eurasian Coot (Fulica atra)

Eurasian Coot (Fulica atra)

A Song Thrush landed only a few meters away from me, and at the same time very loud “wailing” from a nearby tree started. Chicks begging for food! I had to walk away to make sure I didn’t disturb them, in worst case that could lead to the parents not daring to visit the nest and the chicks starving to death.

Song Thrush (Turdus philomelos)

Song Thrush (Turdus philomelos)

24 responses

  1. selah

    the heron photo is interesting, but I feel sorry for the little critter. the baby coot is adorable!

    August 8, 2015 at 1:41 PM

    • Yes, the poor little critter got away a few times but everytime it was caught again by the heron. The baby coots are funny to look at! πŸ™‚

      August 8, 2015 at 2:42 PM

  2. Your baby coots look a lot like ours – hilarious!

    August 8, 2015 at 2:37 PM

  3. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a young coot! They certainly stand out. Lovely to see the song thrush. Given how busy the song thrush has been in my garden dealing with the snails I’m guess there are young ones close by here too. Superb photographs as always Camilla!

    August 8, 2015 at 3:08 PM

    • Thanks Adrian! If you’re lucky you’ll have baby thrushes in your garden soon then. πŸ™‚

      August 8, 2015 at 3:44 PM

  4. Great photography, as always, Calee! You seem to have a knack for this type of work – almost as much as the Heron apparently has a taste for young coots!! ( But such is life!!) πŸ™‚

    August 8, 2015 at 4:35 PM

    • Thanks for the kind words, John! The heron caught a little critter but it’s not a coot, I think it’s some kind of vole.

      August 8, 2015 at 4:53 PM

  5. These are fantastic. What is the heron eating, anyway? A little furry guy of some kind. I see above – a vole of some kind. Yum! Well, not really for me… I cannot believe how amazing the little coot looks. We have a lot of them around here but I haven’t seen chicks yet. I think they’re mostly around in the winter. The song thrush, an obvious relative of our Wood thrush, is handsome, and I bet his song is, too.

    August 9, 2015 at 2:01 AM

    • The baby coots look so funny, and so different from the adults! Not cute, but definitely charming little ones. πŸ™‚

      August 9, 2015 at 6:20 AM

  6. The first two shots are so amazing. Never seen a heron eat a random mole? And the baby coot, how cool is he? Wonderful captures Calee.

    August 9, 2015 at 1:17 PM

    • Thanks Emily! I’ve seen herons pick up mice, rats and even a little rabbit once! Swallowed whole and without any problems (for the heron, that is).

      August 9, 2015 at 2:03 PM

  7. Just an awesome set of photographs Calee!! Herons and Moles – who knew, but good to know! The Coot is one handsome little guy.

    August 9, 2015 at 2:39 PM

    • Thanks Mary! Not sure I’d call the Coot handsome, but funny to look at and quite adorable! πŸ˜‰

      August 9, 2015 at 3:13 PM

  8. Wow! The Blue Heron image is a wonderful catch for it, and a stellar image for you! Well done. The baby coot is cute.

    August 9, 2015 at 10:01 PM

  9. Sweet as a Picture

    Wow! Awesome! πŸ™‚

    August 10, 2015 at 9:42 AM

  10. The baby coot is adorable. Heron pic is amazing.

    August 12, 2015 at 7:03 PM

  11. Love the coots-so ugly they’re adorable. I titled one of mine “Spike” The heron’s choice of edibles surprised me. Great captures, all.

    August 13, 2015 at 6:19 AM

  12. Great shot of the Eurasian coot ~ I like the expression of the shot and the perspective πŸ™‚

    August 25, 2015 at 6:34 PM

Leave a Reply

