Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

branches

Dealing with tree branches is a ‘nice’ challenge for a bird photographer! Here are three photographs of various branches….. and some birds 😉

1. Dunnock (Prunella modularis). Could’ve been a nice photo if he had posed elsewhere-

branches-1

2. European Green Woodpecker (Picus viridis). A very shy bird, photographed from afar-

branches-2

3. Long-tailed Bushtit (Aegithalos caudatus). One of my favorite birds but I’ve never managed to get a good, sharp photo of any-

branches-3

16 responses

  1. Cutie the last one.

    May 24, 2015 at 4:31 PM

    • Thanks Boeta! I think so too, they are the cutest little birds. 🙂

      June 7, 2015 at 3:37 PM

  2. All beautiful birds!

    May 24, 2015 at 4:52 PM

  3. Love the first shot especially….nice and sharp

    May 24, 2015 at 5:27 PM

  4. Superb birding, great shots!!

    May 24, 2015 at 5:29 PM

  5. Very nice! Great shots despite the branches. And in any case, they were there – so it is part of the subject’s world. 😄

    May 24, 2015 at 6:25 PM

    • Thanks John! On the one hand I do like shots with branches etc because it shows the “real” habitat of the birds, but on the other hand I do wish they would perch just long enough so I could get a decent shot without any disturbing elements in the frame.. 😉

      June 7, 2015 at 3:39 PM

  6. Such lovely images as always Camilla. These are beautiful!

    May 24, 2015 at 6:56 PM

  7. Ah, the joy of branches that seem to jump out at the most inopportune moments. At this time of the year, when there are not only branches but also leaves on the trees, I reconcile myself to the reality that most of the time I will not get an unobstructed view of the birds that I can hear, but often cannot see. Still, like you, I chase after them and try to capture images of them, hoping they will be recognizable. Your shots are wonderful, Camilla. I love seeing your birds, which so often are very different from the ones that I am used to seeing.

    May 25, 2015 at 12:33 PM

    • Thanks Mike! I know that you know what it feels like, seeing a nice bird and not being able to get a decent shot because of branches etc.. Wouldn’t it be great if we could ask them to perch in a good spot without any disturbing elements, just long enough to get a good photograph 😉

      June 7, 2015 at 3:44 PM

  8. I feel your pain! As the trees begin to fill out with leaves it’s getting harder to get an unobstructed view of the birds. That top image is really nice. It’s sharp, and the light is great! It’s my favorite of this series of yours. Good shooting! 🙂

    May 26, 2015 at 3:54 AM

Leave a Reply

