Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

stjärtmes

The Long-tailed Bushtit (Aegithalos caudatus – europaeus ) is probably the cutest little bird I know! It’s described as tiny, at only 13-15 cm in length whereof more than half is the tail. The plumage is mainly black and white, with variable amounts of grey and pink. Those I’ve seen have had yellow/orange eye-rings, but apparently that can vary as well. These pictures were taken in Amsterdam

stjartmes-1

stjartmes-2

stjartmes-3

22 responses

  1. ivar

    Lovely, een staartmees.

    November 22, 2014 at 4:26 PM

  2. Those small birds are really nervous and rarely stay on the same spot for long … nice photos

    November 22, 2014 at 4:58 PM

    • Tell me about it..! I have so many pictures of empty tree branches and bushes, the little birds move around a lot and also very fast! Thanks 🙂

      November 22, 2014 at 5:01 PM

  3. Hi, Calee. These are great shots – and lovely birds, as well. Nice key done!!
    John

    November 22, 2014 at 7:04 PM

    • Thanks John! Yes, they’re so lovely these little ones. 🙂 (nice auto correct ;))

      November 22, 2014 at 7:24 PM

  4. I misread bullshit. No wonder, it’s what I’m up against more often than not. 😉

    November 22, 2014 at 7:05 PM

  5. Oh, I love it! We have a similar bird here – so very tiny, our Bushtit doesn’t have quite as long a tail but they captivate me still, for their size and delicacy.

    November 22, 2014 at 8:08 PM

    • Thanks Lynn! I’ve only seen your Bushtit on pictures, but I hope I get to see it in real life too some day!

      November 23, 2014 at 8:35 AM

      • A long trip, but it would be great! I’d say more for the landscapes than the birds, but we do have a lot of eagles, and die-hard birders like to come and tick our Northwestern crow off their lists – it’s a bit smaller and has a different sounding call than the “normal” American crow. Happy birding and photo-taking!

        December 6, 2014 at 7:15 PM

        • It’s a long trip, but I’ve actually been on vacation in Washington state two years in a row. 🙂 Maybe next year again. Happy birding, Lynn!

          December 6, 2014 at 8:31 PM

  6. A sweet photos of this tiny bird!

    November 22, 2014 at 8:43 PM

  7. You did really good on these since the tiny ones are the fastest. Very nice shots of such a cute bird. Makes me kinda tired just to think that you probably put a good deal of work into getting these captures.

    November 23, 2014 at 2:01 AM

    • Thanks Yvonne! You’re right, this is the most difficult bird I’ve tried to photograph so far.. It’s just so small and fast, doesn’t stay in the same place for even a second. But I like watching them, they’re so cute, so even when I didn’t get any good shots, I wasn’t too disappointed because at least I got to see them. 🙂

      November 23, 2014 at 8:44 AM

  8. Wow. That is such a tiny bird that I am amazed that you can get any shots of them. I’m amazed at the length of its tail, though the first shot, which hides the tail a bit, is my favorite

    November 23, 2014 at 12:49 PM

    • Thanks Mike! It was definitely a challenge, I spent more time trying to get decent shots than I’ve done with any other bird so far. But I don’t mind at all, it’s so cute! 🙂

      November 23, 2014 at 9:43 PM

  9. Cute little bird. I particularly like the first picture. The white/black bird with the red seeds in the background, awesome!

    November 24, 2014 at 8:43 AM

  10. This is very possibly my favourite bird. They visit my mum and dad’s garden. These are lovely images Camilla!

    November 27, 2014 at 12:08 PM

    • They’re one of my favorites too, they’re so adorable 🙂 Thanks Adrian!

      November 27, 2014 at 5:08 PM

Leave a Reply

