Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

nötskrika

The Eurasian Jay (Garrulus glandarius) is a quite common bird, but they are shy and difficult to get close to.  Their favorite food is acorn (oak seeds) so I went to a place where there are many oak trees and, this time of the year, many acorns on the ground. I was lucky! Got to see and study several jays, they were eating acorns and also burying acorns in the ground for later use during the winter. Smart little birdies, thinking forward. 😉

I was hiding on the ground quite far away, making sure I didn't disturb or scare him away

I was hiding on the ground quite far away, making sure I didn’t disturb or scare him away

Look at his throat! He just swallowed an acorn and looked like he was choking, but he was fine

Look at his throat! He just swallowed an acorn and for a scary second it looked like he was choking, but later he was fine

24 responses

  1. These are so good. Well done! Lovely photography! 🙂 🙂

    September 25, 2014 at 4:25 PM

  2. exceptionally .. beautiful photos, really – the composition of colors on the first one, the vividness of the later. Wonderful. Thank you for this beaut ; )

    September 25, 2014 at 4:34 PM

  3. i.e., beauty.. ;; )

    September 25, 2014 at 4:35 PM

  4. Both the bird and the setting are pretty.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    September 25, 2014 at 4:48 PM

  5. That is quite the colour combination on that bird.

    September 25, 2014 at 5:53 PM

    • It’s the latest fashion here, fall collection for birds. 😉

      September 26, 2014 at 3:51 PM

  6. Smashing photos Camilla. I love seeing the Jays. We have some quite close by. I think they are related to the magpie arent’ they? Certainly more magpies than jays here but I do see them sometimes. I have two oak trees in my garden so I guess that explains the visits.

    September 25, 2014 at 7:02 PM

    • Thanks a lot, Adrian! Yes, they’re part of the Crow family (with three sub-species) so indeed related to the Magpie. Keep an eye out, especially on the ground below your oak trees. 🙂

      September 26, 2014 at 3:54 PM

  7. Very nice, I love this

    September 25, 2014 at 7:26 PM

  8. A gentle creature – beautiful colours.

    September 25, 2014 at 8:33 PM

    • Not so gentle towards other birds, actually quite aggressive! 😉 I agree about the colors! Thanks Rebecca.

      September 26, 2014 at 3:56 PM

  9. The second pic is really good. I like the alertness of his pose. A very pretty bird too. Wonderful captures.

    September 26, 2014 at 1:56 AM

    • Thanks Yvonne! 🙂 The bird in the second photograph is young, I think it’s a very beautiful one.

      September 26, 2014 at 3:58 PM

      • Yes, I noticed that its feathers indicated a young bird. I ,meant to mention that in my comment and forgot.

        September 26, 2014 at 9:03 PM

  10. Stunning shots of a gorgeous bird. The colors are amazing. Great job, Camilla.

    September 26, 2014 at 10:08 AM

    • Thanks so much, Mike! It’s a bit strange color combination, but it works. 🙂

      September 26, 2014 at 3:58 PM

  11. Wow Calee, just a gorgeous shot! Lucky you ~

    September 26, 2014 at 2:26 PM

    • Thanks Mary! 🙂 Yes, I felt very lucky to be able to study them a bit.

      September 26, 2014 at 4:00 PM

  12. Sweet as a Picture

    What an interesting-looking bird!

    September 26, 2014 at 8:45 PM

    • I think so too. 🙂 Quite exotic-looking for our area.

      September 27, 2014 at 11:06 AM

Leave a Reply

