Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

chickadee

chickadee

32 responses

  1. Wow, Camilla. Are you now a bird whisperer? Is that your hand? (I tried to get a dragonfly to perch on my finger last week and had only limited success.)

    October 28, 2013 at 6:42 PM

    • I tried to take a picture when he was sitting on my hand, but I had my 100mm macro on and the bird was too close to get a good shot! He flew away but luckily came back to sit on someone else’s hand, so I was able to get a shot anyway. 🙂

      October 28, 2013 at 7:00 PM

  2. Awesome!!

    October 28, 2013 at 7:51 PM

  3. Camilla, this is such a sweet picture! 🙂

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    October 28, 2013 at 8:42 PM

  4. Wow! We don’t have a chickadee with that much color.

    October 28, 2013 at 10:50 PM

    • I took this picture in Vancouver! We don’t have any chickadees over here. Apparently you can only find it the in the northern part of the US (coast to coast) and in Canada.

      October 29, 2013 at 6:08 PM

  5. Calee, the itty bitty chichadee is beautiful. Why so tame? Is it accustomed to people feeding it nuts or seeds from the hand? The North American chickadee is not even close in color and beauty. Love this picture.

    October 29, 2013 at 12:08 AM

    • Thanks Yvonne! I suspect people have fed him, all I had to do was to put my hand out and he came to sit on it. 🙂 I took the picture in Vancouver, unfortunately we don’t have any chickadees over here.

      October 29, 2013 at 6:09 PM

  6. Awesome. It appears they are just as friendly on the other side of the ocean.

    October 29, 2013 at 1:06 AM

    • Thanks Lyle! Actually I took this picture in Vancouver, we don’t have any chickadees over here.. So he’s another friendly Canadian! 🙂

      October 29, 2013 at 6:10 PM

  7. This is brilliant! I really like that diagonal line of the hand with the bird perched up on the fingers. And the almost square crop.
    A really strong composition.

    October 29, 2013 at 6:47 AM

    • Thanks so much, John! I had to crop it a bit, there was an ugly garbage bin in the background.. Glad it worked out, though it could’ve been sharper!

      October 29, 2013 at 6:13 PM

  8. Wow, Calee this is so incredible! There is something very special about this scene.

    October 29, 2013 at 12:40 PM

    • Thanks so much, Mary! It was the first time I ever saw a chickadee (they don’t live over here), and he was so cute and curious. 🙂

      October 29, 2013 at 6:13 PM

      • Incredible that the bird felt safe enough to sit in your hands – wow, that is unreal. What a fantastic experienced for you guys!

        October 29, 2013 at 7:05 PM

  9. Way cool, Camilla! Very nice shot and as always an excellent choice of the all too important background. Reminds me of those statues of Saint Francis with the bird on his hand 😉 Great job!

    October 29, 2013 at 1:22 PM

    • Thanks so much, Stefano! 🙂 I really appreciate your kind comments!

      October 29, 2013 at 6:16 PM

  10. This is awesome! I love that he wasnt scared. Love your photo!

    October 29, 2013 at 5:21 PM

  11. Soooo sweet! 😀 My Mom asked what kind of chickadee it is, so I googled, found out it is a chestnut-backed chickadee and I found this amazing video:

    Love & Light
    Fillandra

    October 31, 2013 at 5:12 PM

    • Thanks so much for visiting and sharing this nice video!! 😀

      November 1, 2013 at 6:21 PM

  12. Well, that’s more than a little bit adorable 😉

    November 3, 2013 at 6:58 PM

  13. Ah, Chickadees – I love them!. We have a number of different species in N. America, and as you saw in the cool video, two (actually three if you’re in the mountains) live in the northwest. When I was a girl I tamed them to take seed from my hand, and then I did it again again when I was an adult. It just takes patience, and it’s so worth it to feel those feet on your hand, isn’t it? And to connect so closely with such a wild creature, to feel their wildness – it’s fantastic. Thanks for sharing the photo!

    November 12, 2013 at 2:54 AM

    • These little birds are so cute, I wish they lived over here as well. 🙂 To feel the little feet on your hand is awesome!! Thanks for taking the time to visit and comment!

      November 12, 2013 at 4:08 PM

  14. stunning photo, Camilla.
    groetjes, Francina

    November 28, 2013 at 12:49 PM

  15. Beautiful photo! A bird in hand…

    December 12, 2013 at 6:13 PM

Leave a Reply

