Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

ordinary

I wanted to capture birds in flight. Herons are a bit slow so I thought they’d be good to practice on. I sat by the pond and waited, but the herons didn’t feel like flying, they just sat there and stared back at me. For hours. Then, just when I’d decided to give up and head back home, a little Black-headed gull came and made several sweeps around the pond. So simple, so ordinary, so cooperative.Β  πŸ™‚

Happy weekend everyone!

ordinary

f/8 – 1/500s – ISO 100 – 80mm

33 responses

  1. I agree Calee

    April 26, 2013 at 6:40 PM

  2. I’ve been lucky lately on catching birds in flight….one here is a blue heron I got a few months back at a state park sanctuary; the other two are an osprey that was hanging around the house yesterday…thought you might like to see these…I’m a pure amateur so, as I’ve said, I’ve been lucky!

    Marc’s blog

    kuhnhome@bellsouth.net

    April 26, 2013 at 7:42 PM

    • Thanks for stopping by, Marc! Your heron’s really nice, great capture! I hope I can catch a heron in flight as well, have to find out when they’re more ‘active’. πŸ™‚

      April 26, 2013 at 8:14 PM

  3. Haha ! that’s funny that the Herons just sat and watched you. Great capture on the gull. πŸ™‚

    April 26, 2013 at 10:18 PM

    • For hours! I will post some pictures of the staring herons later πŸ™‚ Thanks Emily!

      April 27, 2013 at 5:10 PM

  4. Great capture! Like you, I’m still trying to catch a heron in flight! I thought I had one once but it was a very blurry shot ):

    April 26, 2013 at 10:34 PM

    • Thanks Susan! Good luck to us both πŸ™‚ May we capture flying herons soon!

      April 27, 2013 at 5:11 PM

  5. Great image! Gulls are great when they hover.

    April 26, 2013 at 10:51 PM

    • Thanks Lorrin! I like your picture of seagulls!! πŸ™‚

      April 27, 2013 at 5:13 PM

  6. Great shot! πŸ™‚

    April 26, 2013 at 10:53 PM

  7. It’s a beautiful capture, Calee. I am glad your patience was rewarded. And the shot is totally perfect with the quote.

    April 27, 2013 at 1:36 AM

    • Thanks so much, Janet! As so often in life, things didn’t turn out as planned but pretty good anyway! πŸ™‚

      April 27, 2013 at 5:15 PM

  8. I enjoyed hearing the story behind the gorgeous picture! So many great shots come as unexpected gifts – don’t they?

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    April 27, 2013 at 2:48 AM

    • Thanks sweet Wendy! Yes, and the unexpected ones are the ones I appreciate most! Like for example, looking for a flower to photograph and ending up with pictures of damselflies instad πŸ™‚

      April 27, 2013 at 5:18 PM

  9. The photo is so beautiful. Love the gull against the clouds Calee. The sentiment expressed so true. We should never take the beauty around us for granted. πŸ™‚

    April 27, 2013 at 4:03 AM

    • Thanks so much, Alison! πŸ™‚ It’s true, we should appreciate all the beauty around us, big and small!

      April 27, 2013 at 5:24 PM

  10. What a perfect shot! I’m glad someone cooperated for you. πŸ˜‰

    April 27, 2013 at 5:56 AM

  11. Ah birds in flight…..good luck with that! Nice shot and the words from HCA work well – so true!

    April 27, 2013 at 8:12 AM

    • Thanks Mark, luck is what I need!! πŸ˜€ HCA said a lot of wise things, and I love fairytales..

      April 27, 2013 at 5:26 PM

  12. Photo is great with the quote.

    April 27, 2013 at 10:13 PM

  13. Great quote! Thank you for sharing!!!

    April 28, 2013 at 4:41 PM

    • I’m glad you liked it. Thanks for visiting! πŸ™‚

      April 29, 2013 at 3:30 PM

  14. You always make my day beautiful ….

    April 29, 2013 at 8:35 PM

  15. That seagull is in the perfect spot (or the clouds are). Great picture, Calee.

    May 16, 2013 at 5:37 PM

  16. Great photo (wouldn’t everyone be able to fly like that? Free as a bird, how beautiful must that be). Patience is always rewarded. And I do like the H.C. saying you added there.

    May 30, 2013 at 9:36 PM

Leave a Reply

