Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

Guest Post – Camilla Lee Second Prize Winner in the First DLR Competition

The Digital Lightroom

I started blogging and taking pictures in July 2012.  I’m a total beginner and when I was encouraged to enter the Digital Lightroom Photo Competition I visited the site.  I looked at the photos taken by the judges the submission guidelines and what the judges would be looking for and I just thought that it was all way beyond me at the moment.

A week later I posted a spring picture on my blog.  One of the judges commented and said that I should enter the competition.  The closing date was the following day.  I recalled the list of submission guidelines and hesitated but then I thought ‘why not? I’m sure I can work through the submission requirements and so what if the judges laugh at my amateur spring flowers, at least I’d tried.’ I googled how to resize a picture as I wasn’t sure about that bit and managed…

View original post 407 more words

16 responses

  1. Congratulations Camilla!!! for your fantastic win here – it’s wonderful to see proper applauds for your work. Great news, and btw your photography is excellent piece of imagery!

    April 10, 2013 at 5:49 PM

  2. I know I’ve said this before…..but well done again. Are you entering the next one…?

    April 10, 2013 at 6:00 PM

    • Thanks so much, Mark!! I don’t think I’ll enter the next one, I don’t have any good motion/movement pictures and no time to take new ones before the deadline. But maybe again in the future! 🙂

      April 11, 2013 at 3:44 PM

  3. You are not a total beginner Camilla. You are a total expert photographer. I am very happy to have contributed to your win. Please enter the next one!!!!!!!!

    April 10, 2013 at 6:43 PM

    • Thanks so much, Giuseppe!! For your kind comment and for voting! 🙂

      April 11, 2013 at 3:45 PM

  4. Marina Sundberg

    FANTASTISKT!!! GRATTIS!!!

    Kram,

    Nina

    April 10, 2013 at 6:52 PM

  5. You may be a beginner as far as putting your hands on a camera, but your eyes and brain have been noticing and seeing deeply for a long, long time. That shows in the composition of your photos, as well as in the subjects you find to photograph. You must notice the large and the small wonders of the world before you can photograph them, and you are an expert at that!

    April 10, 2013 at 7:46 PM

    • What a fantastic compliment!!! Thanks so much, Janet, I appreciate you a lot!! 😀

      April 11, 2013 at 3:46 PM

  6. 🙂 Great work on winning a prize! I like how you improved the photo – you have a good eye.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    April 10, 2013 at 8:12 PM

  7. I enjoy all your photos and love what you did in the guest post, using the Topaz Adust.

    April 11, 2013 at 12:38 AM

  8. Congratulations Camilla!!! I too enjoy visiting here and seeing all your wonderful photos! Great work!

    April 11, 2013 at 3:14 PM

    • Thanks so much, Susan!! You should definitely enter as well, your new swan pictures are perfect for the “Movement and motion” competition!

      April 11, 2013 at 3:50 PM

Leave a Reply

