Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

coupling

Yesterday I went back to the ‘damselfly-mating-tree’, but it was empty. But further down the canal there was another tree, and it was full of damselflies! While I was studying them, a dragonfly couple came flying in tandem. Next to the damselflies they looked massive. I tried to get a shot but they chose a branch of the tree on the other side (over the water) so I couldn’t get close. Luckily, they eventually moved to the grass (yes! on the “right” side of the canal, I’m so lucky!) and I could take a picture of them. They are Ruddy Darter dragonflies, in Dutch they’re called “Bloedrode heidelibel” but only the male is blood-red and the female more yellowish.

f/14 – 1/60 – ISO 400 – 60

16 responses

  1. Ed

    Are they linked up tail to head? thats odd but fascinating..Great shot..:-)

    September 23, 2012 at 11:47 AM

  2. It was so nice of them to cooperate. I enjoyed the encounter.

    September 23, 2012 at 12:01 PM

    • I thought so too! Very grateful to them. πŸ™‚ Thanks for commenting!

      September 23, 2012 at 12:05 PM

  3. Gabriel | εŠ η™Ύεˆ©

    wonderful post!

    September 23, 2012 at 4:50 PM

  4. The Jagged Man

    I am lucky to see o hand full of Damselflies a year. I see plenty dragonflies but maybe one coupled pair a year. Great shot!

    September 24, 2012 at 2:22 AM

    • Thanks for your comment! I’ve only seen 3 dragonflies all summer, but loads of damselflies. I don’t know if that’s normal or not, because before I started taking pictures of them (about a month ago) I never paid attention.. But I think dragonflies are more common, I just don’t know where to find them.

      September 24, 2012 at 6:15 AM

      • heres what you do,in your country theres probably a dragonfly,odonata forum….the people on it want new members so all you have to do is find it online and you’ll soon find out where the dragons are

        November 3, 2012 at 12:02 PM

  5. What a splendid shot! Dragonflies are so intricately put together, and seeing two at once is wonderful!
    ~ Wendy

    September 24, 2012 at 3:33 PM

    • Thank you, Wendy! It’s indeed wonderful to see them πŸ™‚ Hugs ~

      September 24, 2012 at 4:11 PM

  6. Nature!

    September 27, 2012 at 7:36 AM

  7. such a shame they weren’t forming the mating wheel,i’ve never seen ruddy’s do it but they most definatel do

    November 3, 2012 at 12:03 PM

    • I was just thrilled I found any dragonflies at all! But surely they do the mating wheel, don’t all dragonflies and damselflies? I’ll have to keep looking next summer! Thanks for commenting.

      November 3, 2012 at 7:52 PM

      • well you’ll have all summer next year

        and this link might help you in your search

        http://www.dutchdragonflies.eu/index.html

        November 8, 2012 at 5:39 PM

        • Thanks Ian! I’ve used that site before, to identify the ones I caught on camera. I’m going to look for sites where to find them, so I’m prepared for next summer. πŸ™‚

          November 8, 2012 at 5:47 PM

Leave a Reply

