Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

yawn

Oh sigh, another damselfly.. Yes, yes, I know, but just one more! I’m simply not able to pass by such a beautiful, male Emerald damselfly (look at the shimmering blue pruinescence) and not take a picture.

Some fellow bloggers, who are very good photographers, have suggested that I should use flash to improve my pictures. Here’s me trying to follow good advice, and I’m pretty pleased with the outcome. Thanks!

f/5 – 1/60 – ISO 400 – 60 – with flash

49 responses

  1. Gabriel | 加百利

    great macro!

    September 19, 2012 at 3:43 PM

  2. Brings out a lot more detail indeed..
    was wondering did you crop here aswell..?

    September 19, 2012 at 3:50 PM

    • No, I didn’t crop it, it’s straight from the camera, I only added my signature in the corner.

      September 19, 2012 at 3:53 PM

      • In that case it’s worth a triple Like.What triggered me more was to see how you made the composition from start on, aswell as keeping the focus spot on.

        September 19, 2012 at 5:11 PM

  3. so nice!

    September 19, 2012 at 4:00 PM

  4. Just wanted to tell you that I think you take amazing photographs. Blessings from Lizzie Joy

    September 19, 2012 at 4:54 PM

  5. Therese

    Wow! Look at the colors! You have preserved them for all of us to see. Thanks.

    September 19, 2012 at 5:49 PM

    • Thank you for your kind comment! Always much appreciated!

      September 19, 2012 at 7:30 PM

  6. marlowphotography

    love this macro looks really good what camera and lense are you using?

    September 19, 2012 at 6:32 PM

    • Thank you! I use a Canon 450D (or Rebel XSi, depending on where you are) and Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM lens.

      September 19, 2012 at 7:33 PM

  7. This one is a stunner! Very niceely done.

    September 19, 2012 at 6:34 PM

  8. Reblogged this on Animal Lovers' Blog.

    September 19, 2012 at 7:02 PM

  9. Spectacular macro!

    September 19, 2012 at 8:30 PM

    • Thanks so much!! So nice to get a compliment from someone who’s as good as you are 🙂

      September 20, 2012 at 7:53 AM

  10. Excellent! Especially if it is straight out of the box! Great detail

    September 19, 2012 at 10:36 PM

    • Thanks Mark! Photogenic little critter, isn’t he? 🙂

      September 20, 2012 at 7:57 AM

  11. This is not a yawn… this is wonderful! It’s the best damselfly yet. I am so hooked on dragonflies lately – love them!
    ~ Wendy

    September 20, 2012 at 12:33 AM

    • Thanks so much, Wendy! I know, I’m getting slightly obsessed with the damselflies and dragonflies 🙂

      September 20, 2012 at 8:01 AM

  12. Gorgeous image. I know from personal experience how tough it can be to get a close-up shot of a damselfly. Did you use an off-camera flash or the built-in one? How did you keep the flash from washing out the highlights (you must have been really close)? I know that some folks like to use ring flashes to give even lighting to macro shots, but it’s still a bit of a mystery to me how to use a flash effectively in these kind of situations.

    September 20, 2012 at 1:29 AM

    • Thanks Mike! I used the built-in flash, but in the settings I changed it to two stops lower than the full flash. So it gave a nice light but not too much. We have exactly the same camera, so you’ve probably noticed that the 1/1 full flash is a bit too harsh as well? I normally never use flash, but in this case I’m happy with the result.

      September 20, 2012 at 8:08 AM

  13. Thanks for visiting my blog. You have some impressive images. All the best.

    September 20, 2012 at 4:28 AM

  14. Lovely image! You must have got real close. What time of day was this?

    September 20, 2012 at 7:43 AM

    • Thank you! Yes, I was very close; about 10 cm between the lens and the damselfly. It was around 2pm, he was sunbathing next to a canal.

      September 20, 2012 at 8:10 AM

  15. Heart To Harp

    There could never be too many shots of these wonderful creatures!

    September 20, 2012 at 9:10 PM

  16. They are indeed wonderful, but I think I’m reaching my limit.. Thanks for your comment! 🙂

    September 21, 2012 at 6:58 AM

  17. Another lovely macro shot…..you’re getting good at these!!

    September 24, 2012 at 5:41 PM

    • Thanks so much, Mark!! I learn as I go along, there’s a lot of trial-and-error involved.. 😉

      September 24, 2012 at 5:57 PM

  18. This captures the colours so well! Damselflies and dragonflies are so hard to photograph, but you are making it look easy 😛

    September 24, 2012 at 10:33 PM

    • Thanks a lot! In my limited experience, damselflies are easier than dragonflies 🙂

      September 25, 2012 at 5:34 AM

  19. exiledprospero

    We call these libellule in French… a name I rather like. Great photo.

    October 3, 2012 at 5:28 PM

    • Thanks! They are called ‘libellen’ here in Holland 🙂

      October 3, 2012 at 8:04 PM

  20. I like how the eyes are almost glowing! Great close-up!

    October 5, 2012 at 1:02 PM

    • Thank you! They are beautiful creatures, aren’t they? 🙂

      October 5, 2012 at 1:56 PM

  21. Indeed, this is a great shot. Macro always presents beauty along with challenges; maintaining good DOF being the main one for me. Did you shot this on a tripod or handheld?.

    October 8, 2012 at 4:56 PM

    • caleephotography

      Thank you, Jim! All pictures on my blog are taken handheld.. I’m still learning and haven’t gotten to the tripod part yet. 🙂

      October 8, 2012 at 5:50 PM

  22. Yes, indeed you have gotten some great advice from a lot of “tographers.” How could you not shoot the fellow with the left eye flirting with you? I am joking of course! I have only been following your blog for a short time but you clearly are not a slouch when handling your camera.

    October 16, 2012 at 6:01 PM

    • caleephotography

      Thanks Yvonne! I started this blog end of July, and (except when on holiday) I’ve been posting at least one picture every day since. It motivates me to go out and take more pictures!

      October 16, 2012 at 6:11 PM

  23. Interesting photo! Thanks for visiting my blog too.

    October 19, 2012 at 6:40 AM

  24. first of all,nice emerald you got there..well focused and posing nicely.well done on that.

    now perhaps a couple of suggestions,i dont know if you took any other shots of this little predator but sometimes with damsels and dragons but sometimes full body shots can be more effective ,this isn’t a criticism because we all like to get up close and personal,i’m one of the worst for it but i worked out how to get both types of shot,simply get the full body shot then work your way in,getting closer

    now the flash,it was pretty good advice to use it if the light was poor,but on a really bright sunny day you dont really need it.natural light in my humble opinion gives better results if its bright enough,of course experiment with flash on duller days

    but anyway,as i said.well done with this shot because its a good one

    November 3, 2012 at 10:10 AM

    • Thanks Ian! For the compliment, commenting and for the advice. I’m really new to this (I started 3 months ago) and damselflies quickly became my favorite subjects. About the flash, it was a bit grey that day so I’m happy the flash made the colors stand out more. But in general I agree that natural light is nicer. I didn’t have much time to practice damselfly shots, summer ended too quickly and now I have to wait until next year to try again. Will keep your advice in mind!

      November 3, 2012 at 7:49 PM

      • believe me here,you wait all winter for damselflies and dragonflies and when they emerge the summer seems to fly by in an instant..what i was trying to say about the flash was that you should take each day and each subject by its own merits,what might yield results today might not tomorrow

        November 3, 2012 at 7:56 PM

Leave a Reply

