Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

rust

f/3.2 – 1/640 – ISO 200 – 60

16 responses

  1. naturesnippets

    Stunning picture. We don’t have that butterfly in the U.S.

    August 30, 2012 at 6:28 PM

    • Thank you! It’s called a Julia butterfly, and I think you have them in the South of the U.S. 🙂 The one in this picture is a female, she has a dark rim on her wings and she’s lighter orange than the males.

      August 30, 2012 at 6:44 PM

  2. Phenomenal!

    August 30, 2012 at 6:58 PM

  3. snowbirdpress

    I was in the garden today, and they fly by so quickly I can barely see the butterflies, wasps and bees. Then I come in and find you’ve a photoraph so splendid that you can actually see the expression on its face! You certainly have a wonderful technique for photographing these beautiful creatures.

    August 30, 2012 at 7:48 PM

    • What a fantastic comment, you’re so kind! 🙂 Honestly, it’s 10% technique and 90% luck. I’ve seen so many butterflies this summer, but most of them won’t sit still long enough for me to take a picture..

      August 30, 2012 at 7:54 PM

  4. Ed

    fantastic shot!!

    August 30, 2012 at 11:14 PM

  5. Francina

    wow.. wonderbaarlijk mooi!
    Groetjes, Francina

    August 31, 2012 at 10:28 AM

  6. Beautiful & inspiring! One of my goals is to capture butterflies on my camera. So far I have only caught one & it was blurry… Your photos are awesome!! ~ Wendy

    August 31, 2012 at 4:09 PM

    • Thank you so much, Wendy! I look forward to see your butterfly pictures in the future 🙂

      August 31, 2012 at 4:11 PM

  7. What lens do you use to capture this shot?

    August 31, 2012 at 4:33 PM

  8. Bugs, beetle, and butterflies! I love them too! This is a great shot, Calee (is this correct?)!! Timing was great as everything about it is sharp. Thanks, too, for liking one of my recent posts “Live red rubies…”; I still don’t know what they are.

    September 17, 2012 at 6:41 PM

    • Thanks so much!! I think the Orange Longwing is one of the most “photogenic” butterflies I’ve seen so far. But it’s really difficult (for me) to get the eyes sharp. The only pictures I have where they eyes are in focus, the rest of the body is a bit blurry.. Well, anyway, thanks for liking it!!

      September 17, 2012 at 6:53 PM

Leave a Reply

