Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

ocelli

This wasp had a taste for Wild Alaskan salmon… I’ve never noticed before that wasps have three extra eyes?! (They used to send me off screaming, so never took any closer look.)ย  A quick research revealed that these extra eyes are called “dorsal ocelli”, and they are are light-sensitive organs found on the dorsal (top-most) surface or frontal surface of the head. The ocelli co-exist with the compound eyes so the wasp possess two anatomically separate and functionally different visual pathways. In other words: They have eyes in the back of their head – how cool is that! ๐Ÿ™‚

f/3.5 – 1/100 – ISO 200 – 60

13 responses

  1. Nice close up

    August 28, 2012 at 3:26 PM

    • Thanks Jรถrg! Actually what’s most amazing is that I was “brave” enough to get close to it ๐Ÿ˜‰ Close up photography is slowly but surely curing my fear of bugs!

      August 28, 2012 at 3:29 PM

  2. Spectacular shot! The details & colors are mesmerizing. I don’t blame him for liking salmon…I love it too. I have only had a wasp bite me if I’ve accidentally put my hand on it. ~ Wendy

    August 28, 2012 at 4:47 PM

    • Thanks Wendy! I love salmon too.. And so did the wasp, he tore off big chunks and flew away with them, and he kept coming back for more!

      August 28, 2012 at 4:54 PM

  3. naturesnippets

    Amazing picture! I didn’t know about the “eyes in the back of the head” either. Thanks.

    August 28, 2012 at 7:05 PM

    • Thank you! I’m glad I wasn’t the only one ๐Ÿ˜‰

      August 28, 2012 at 7:11 PM

  4. Lemonade

    The close up shot is wonderful and I find it amazing that they actually have two different lines of vision! No wonder every time I get stung I think that they just came out of nowhere – they knew exactly where to buzz to!

    August 29, 2012 at 3:58 AM

    • I’ve never been stung *knock on wood*, but I think the extra eyes/sensors are really cool. Must be handy! ๐Ÿ™‚

      August 29, 2012 at 5:36 AM

  5. Oh, I was stung badly once, long ago – while doing early morning walking meditation barefoot…my toe was sore all day! I appreciate your curiosity – it’s great to wonder about things & go and find out more. Thanks for posting!

    August 29, 2012 at 6:02 PM

    • Ouch! I’m glad I never had that experience.. Because I’ve never been a fan of insects, I’ve never taken a closer look at them before. Now suddenly, a whole new world has been opened to me, and it’s fascinating! Some of them still scare me, especially spiders and big shiny beetles. But maybe one day soon I’ll get over that too ๐Ÿ˜‰

      August 29, 2012 at 10:01 PM

  6. I knew about the ocelli on cicadas, but not on wasps. Facinating!

    September 17, 2012 at 8:24 PM

    • I hadn’t seen it at all before, but since I took that picture I’ve seen it very clearly on damselflies as well. Indeed, fascinating!

      September 17, 2012 at 8:39 PM

Leave a Reply

