Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

chess

f/3.2 – 1/125 – ISO  200 – 60

20 responses

  1. Brown has never looked so good as it does in this photo… I keep hoping to catch a moth or butterfly with my camera. Good one! ~ Wendy

    August 22, 2012 at 4:22 PM

    • Thanks Wendy! Good luck, I hope to see one on your blog soon then 🙂

      August 22, 2012 at 4:23 PM

  2. moondustwriter

    your work is so delightful
    I shoot (only for fun)
    I have a request – I just wrote a series of poems -the butterfly being my inspiration. My iphone camera will not capture a butterfly in her beauty
    rather than use a stock photo I would love to share your work and even write a bio and link to your page
    I have enjoyed collaborating with fellow writers and artists for many years
    you can email me at moondustwriter@gmail.com if you are interested
    wishing you the best in your artistic travels

    August 22, 2012 at 7:51 PM

    • Thanks for asking. You’re welcome to use my photos, as long as they’re not altered. I look forward to read your poems.

      August 23, 2012 at 6:28 AM

  3. White Pine Photo

    Great catch!

    August 23, 2012 at 12:13 AM

  4. Great butterfly-shot – like it

    August 23, 2012 at 8:34 AM

  5. Love the light in this and the varying shades of green. Wondeful contrast with the brown butterfly.

    August 24, 2012 at 3:24 AM

    • Thank you! I was actually not happy with the light in this one, but when you shoot butterflies you have to make do with what you got.. Not like you can ask them to move. 😉

      August 24, 2012 at 5:58 AM

  6. Gorgeous

    August 25, 2012 at 9:18 AM

    • All butterflies are gorgeous, but I think this one has a nicer body and head (especially the eyes!) rather than spectacular wings.

      August 25, 2012 at 10:59 AM

  7. snowbirdpress

    You’ve even captured their personality!

    August 29, 2012 at 12:52 AM

    • Thanks for visiting, Merrill! I love your drawings!

      August 29, 2012 at 3:02 PM

      • snowbirdpress

        We have the beginnings of a mutual admiration society… I love your photos… I never could take good photos … that’s probably why I learned to draw… so when I see great photos I would have loved to have taken myself I truly appreciate them.

        August 29, 2012 at 8:22 PM

        • I used to draw pictures but injured my hand a few years ago, so now can barely hold a pen.. I learned how to use my left hand for most things, but can’t make any drawings. Anyway, they were never as good as yours 🙂 I stick to scribbling and taking photos!

          August 29, 2012 at 9:51 PM

          • snowbirdpress

            When I broke my right wrist I didn’t know if I’d be able to draw again… I had trouble holding a pen in it after the cast came off… but on the way home one day a red-tail hawk came zooming in over my head, back and forth for a good five minutes and I got to see this fabulous creature up close… I raced home and immediately started drawing it before I’d forget what I saw… and suddenly realized I could draw just fine as long as I didn’t think about it not being the same as before. I’m in the process of losing my eyesight now so there will come a time when the drawing will cease… and I suppose that’s one of the reasons I went into haiku … so I’d have some outlet for the recording the amazing things I come across in this world.

            August 30, 2012 at 12:13 AM

  8. Thanks for visiting, Merrill! I love your drawings!

    August 29, 2012 at 5:40 AM

  9. Chess??? I think the light is just gorgeous – it’s cool and soft. So many of your photos have a softness in the color & light that I like. There seem to be lots of over-saturated, in-your-face colors in nature photography, but not here.

    August 29, 2012 at 6:06 PM

    • Because his eyes looked like a chess board 😉 I’m not a big fan of over-saturated pictures, I think nature is just perfect as it is.. No tweaking needed!

      August 29, 2012 at 9:57 PM

Leave a Reply

